

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Mikel Insalaco
Director of Marketing & Communications
Phone: (907) 550-8481
Email: minsalaco@alaskapublic.org

Alaska Public Media Welcomes Six New Members to Board of Directors

New Members Include Paola Banchero, Sonya Hunte, Joy Huntington, Gabriel Kompkoff, Ken Miller, and Kimberly Kane Waller

ANCHORAGE, ALASKA – July 9, 2021 – Alaska Public Media (AKPM) is pleased to welcome six new members to their board of directors, including Paola Banchero, Sonya Hunte, Joy Huntington, Gabriel Kompkoff, Ken Miller, and Kimberly Kane Waller. The roster includes individuals from various professional backgrounds, each of whom has committed to serve three-year terms.

"Each of our incoming board members brings a distinct set of experiences and talents which will enhance our capacity to guide Alaska Public Media," explained Karen Wuestenfeld, Board Chair at Alaska Public Media. "The board is united and energized by our vision for public media to inform and connect our greater Alaska community."

"As Alaska Public Media continues to embrace an audience-first, platform-agnostic media future, we welcome the deep talent, professional experience, and passion our new board members will bring," said Ed Ulman, President and CEO at Alaska Public Media.



Prior to becoming a member of the AKPM's board of directors, Paola Banchero served as a volunteer on Alaska Public Media's Community Advisory board for nearly 10 years. Since 2011, Banchero has worked as an associate professor within the Department of Journalism and Public Communications at the University of Alaska Anchorage. As an avid audience member and journalism professional, Banchero hopes to utilize her knowledge of the platforms and challenges to benefit the organization.

"I'm a life-long user and lover of public media starting with Sesame Street. I've worked as a volunteer and served on the Community Advisory Board at Alaska Public Media and being on the board of directors is a way of giving back with my knowledge of journalism and finance," said Paola Banchero.

With over a dozen years of experience in social work, Sonya Hunte is a former board president for the Georgia Chapter of the National Association of Social Workers and currently serves as the inaugural Director for the Anchorage School District's Office of Equity and Compliance. As a passionate advocate for success for all students, Hunte plans to use her experience to preserve media as a positive, uplifting platform for unheard voices.





FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Mikel Insalaco Director of Marketing & Communications Phone: (907) 550-8481

Email: minsalaco@alaskapublic.org

"The beauty of public media is its reflection of the voices of people. This is a great opportunity to connect with the stories of neighbors, friends, and so many in our state," said Sonya Hunte. "I feel humbled by this opportunity to join in the great work of the Alaska Public Media's community."



Joy Huntington was born in Fairbanks, Alaska and after attending Dartmouth College in 2006, Huntington served in roles on the Fairbanks North Star Borough Planning Commission and Fairbanks City Council. Currently, she serves as the Principal Consultant and President of Uqaqti Consulting LLC, a role in which she was recognized as one of the country's Top 50 Native Business Entrepreneurs.

"Growing up in rural Alaska, I saw firsthand the importance of our public media broadcasting across the state," stated Joy Huntington. "I am so excited to see how many local voices are being elevated through the efforts of the incredible staff and board at Alaska Public Media. I am

thrilled to join the momentum and collaborative effort!"

Gabriel Kompkoff is a consultant and owner of Two Moon Bay Advisors, and also is Vice-Chair of the Alaska Community Foundation. Prior to his current roles, he served as the President and CEO of Chugach Alaska Corporation. As a volunteer board member, Kompkoff wishes to apply his experience and knowledge of business and industry in Alaska.





community's public media."

Ken Miller is the president and founder of Denali Fundraising Consultants, a nonprofit fundraising and management consulting company located in Anchorage, Alaska. Miller has been working in nonprofit fundraising development in Alaska since 2010, and is a current member of the Association of Fundraising Professionals (AFP) Global board of directors.

"I am very excited and honored to become a board member for my local public media station," said Ken Miller. "We are in a time of great change and adaption in all facets of media and I look forward to sharing my experience, background, and hopefully knowledge to grow our



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Mikel Insalaco Director of Marketing & Communications Phone: (907) 550-8481

Email: minsalaco@alaskapublic.org

Kimberly Kane Waller is a Gracie Award-winning on-air host and producer with a broadcast career spanning over two decades. Often known locally for her role as a DJ with hip-hop / rhythmic station KFAT 92.9 FM, Waller would join the team at MTV Radio, and proceed to work at the Power 105.1 FM station in New York for 13 years before returning to her hometown of Anchorage, Alaska to launch a non-profit.



"There are many opportunities for media-makers in our state. Alaska Public Media has made a commitment to amplify and celebrate all Alaskan voices. That got my attention. I want to help serve that mission," exclaimed Kimberly Kane Waller.

About Alaska Public Media

Alaska Public Media (AKPM) is a shared Public Broadcasting System (PBS) and National Public Radio (NPR) member and a 501(c)(3) organization. Committed to meeting the needs of our community and state, AKPM produces and presents news and content that provides lifelong learning opportunities in public affairs, health and leisure, science and nature, economic and social development, civic engagement, and world events. The company is located in Southcentral Alaska and is comprised of KSKA radio, KAKM-TV, Create TV, PBS KIDS, PBS KIDS 24/7, and alaskapublic.org. Alaska Public Media also operates the Statewide News network and a shared television service with KTOO in Juneau and KYUK in Bethel.

###